When I was a Drunk

When I was a drunk
and didn’t know it…
I would knock on
the bar and say,
Thank God I wasn’t!

When I was a drunk
and didn’t know it..
I would makes comments
on how wasteful
a spilled drink was.

When I was a drunk
and didn’t know it…
I could not leave
any establishment with
liquor in the glass.
Wasteful you know!

When I was a drunk
and didn’t know it…
I drank to all hours
of the morning,
then
drove home drunk.

When I was drunk
and didn’t know it…
I would party all night
and sleep all day

When I was a drunk
and didn’t know it…
I would carry
two flasks
of my poison
at all times

When I was a drunk
and didn’t know it..
I would finish
yesterdays drink
upon waking

When I was a drunk
and didn’t know it…
I would only drink
the most toxic drinks
“A Grateful Dead”
all hard liquor

When I was a drunk
and didn’t know it…
I would let you
pass out
then use
your money
to drink with

When I was a drunk
and didn’t know it…
I would laugh
at most things
that
were not funny

When I was a drunk
and didn’t know it…
I would fall down a lot
and sometimes
end up at the ER

When I was a drunk
and didn’t know it…
I Would talk so loud
as if I had to talk
over a crowd

When I was a drunk
and didn’t know it…
I thought AA was
what people
got for there
cars
When I was a drunk
and didn’t know it…
AA was strongly suggested
I replied AA is not for me
What do you think
I’m a drunk

When I got sober
all those things
became non existent.
AA Became
part of my life.
Today I have
11 years Sober.
Copyright © TMC 2016

Leave a Reply

